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To provide you information about:

Types of Leaves
Leave of Absence Process
Disability Benefits 
Types of Leave, Applying for Short Term Disability (STD)
Benefits while out on Leave 
Returning from Leave
Additional Resources
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Types of Leaves

Federal Leaves
State of California Leaves
Contractual Leaves defined in MOU
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Federal Leaves

FMLA (Family Medical Leave Act)
12 weeks of unpaid leave for an employee who has worked 1,250 
hours in the past 12 months AND
Is undergoing treatment for a “serious health condition” OR
Is caring for a parent, spouse or child with a “serious health condition”
OR
Is adopting, having a baby or having a foster child placed in the 
home.
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State of California Leaves

California Family Rights Act (CFRA)
12 weeks of unpaid leave for an employee who has worked 
1,250 hours in the past 12 months AND
Is undergoing treatment for a “serious health condition” OR
Is caring for a parent, spouse or child with a “serious health 
condition” OR
Is adopting, having a baby or having a foster child placed in 
the home OR
For the purposes of “bonding”
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State of California Leaves

Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL)
16 weeks of leave for a female employee who is disabled due 
to pregnancy, childbirth or a related medical condition
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State of California Leaves

California Family Sick Leave (Labor Code §233)
Employee may use six months of accrued sick leave to care for a 
parent, child, spouse or domestic partner

California Domestic Partners (Family Code §297.5)
Applies CFRA and California Family Sick Leave to registered 
domestic partners
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Contractual Leaves

Sick Leave and Annual Leave (Article IV and VI MOU)
Use of employee’s accrued leave balances for:
Employee’s illness, injury or disability due to pregnancy or childbirth, 
OR
Attending medical or dental office appointments, OR
Exposure to a contagious disease, OR
Attending to the serious illness of an immediate family member
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Contractual Leaves

Official Leave for Non-Occupational Disability (Article IV MOU)
An employee may request a six (6) month leave of absence for 
a non-work related disability if the employee has worked 6,240 
hours
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Contractual Leaves

Parenthood Leave (Article IV – MOU)
An employee may request a leave for up to six (6) months in 
connection with the birth, placement or legal adoption of a 
child
An employee requesting the leave must apply 100% of their 
accrued comp/vacation time towards payment of the absence
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Contractual Leaves
Family Leave (Article IV)
12 weeks of unpaid leave for an employee who has worked 
1,250 hours in the past 12 months AND
Is undergoing treatment for a “serious health condition” OR
Is caring for a parent, spouse or child with a “serious health 
condition” OR
Is adopting, having a baby or having a foster child placed in 
the home. 
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Leave of Absence Process
You must formally request a leave of absence through your HR 
Representative or Supervisor.
HR agency must input your effective date/leave type into the County 
payroll system.
Once entered, the date and type of leave will be sent to the County of 
Orange Benefits Center. 
The Benefits Center then creates and sends you a personalized leave 
of absence package with their benefit options and costs (if 
applicable).
If you want to continue benefits as listed on their Benefits Summary, 
then do nothing.
If you wish to cancel coverage while on leave (if eligible), follow the 
instructions in your package.
No additional forms are required, unless you are a Manager, Attorney, 
or Craft & Plant employee.
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Disability Benefits

If you are a Manager, Attorney, or Craft & Plant employee, short term 
and long term disability benefits are administered through the County.
All other employees have disability benefits through their union/labor 
organization, such as OCEA, SEIU, AFSCME, IUOE, and AOCDS. 
Employees must contact their union/labor organization for information 
and to apply.
County employees do not pay into the State Disability program and 
are not eligible for State Disability benefits.
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Leave of Absences (LOA) Disability Benefits 
for Management, Attorney, Craft & Plant

Short Term Disability (STD) coverage begins when a disability keeps 
an employee from working for more than seven calendar days (the 
waiting period) after exhausting the following time:

County Attorneys Full-Time Attorneys must use 
192 hours, Part-Time Attorneys 
must use 96 hours of Annual 
Leave before STD can be 
applied 

County Management Must use 192 Annual Leave 
before STD can be applied

County Craft & Plant Must use all Sick time before STD 
can be applied
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Disability Benefits for Management, 
Attorney, Craft & Plant
If STD applies, you will need to do the following to apply:

Go to the Benefits Center Web Site at 
www.benefitsweb.com/countyoforange.html or the County of Orange 
Employee Benefits Web Site at www.oc.ca.gov/hr/employeebenefits
to obtain the STD  package. 
The package includes a Salary Continuance Claim form and a W-4 
form.

http://www.benefitsweb.com/countyoforange.html
http://www.oc.ca.gov/hr/eEmployeebenefits
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Applying for Short Term Disability (STD)
You will need to complete and return the Salary Continuance Claim 
and W-4 form to: 

County of Orange Employee Benefits Office 
10 Civic Center Plaza, 2nd Floor
Santa Ana, Ca 92701

Employer section of STD application, is to be completed by Employee 
Benefits office.
Maximum period an employee can receive STD benefits is 12 months
from the end of the waiting period. 
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STD Benefits

STD benefits are based on your covered earnings (taxable). STD 
benefits will be reduced by any income that an you may receive from 
other sources during the disability (i.e. Workers' Compensation,
Social Security).
If applying for and receiving Catastrophic Leave donations, STD will 
be suspended until you have exhausted the entire Catastrophic Leave 
donations.
Checks are issued by the County’s STD vendor, The Standard 
Insurance Company.
STD checks are issued separate from County payroll.
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Benefits While out on Leave
Unpaid Leave (without STD benefits): This means you are 
responsible for the full monthly health premium while off of County 
payroll (both County and Employee portions)
Unpaid Family Leave (with or without STD benefits): This means you 
are responsible for your regular bi-weekly health premiums while off 
County payroll (if applicable).
Unpaid Leave with County STD Benefits: This means you pay your 
regular bi-weekly health premiums (if applicable).
All Paid Leave: This means your normal bi-weekly health premiums 
continue to come out of your bi-weekly payroll checks. Provided you 
earn enough to cover health premium; otherwise you will be direct 
billed monthly.
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Unpaid Leave

Unpaid leave without STD benefits:
You are responsible for the full monthly health premium while off 
of County payroll (both County and Employee portions)
You will be sent a leave package that contains costs and options
available

You will receive monthly invoices for continuation of coverage from 
Benefits Billing Services effective the 1st of the month following the 
start of your unpaid leave through the end of the month in which you 
return to work.
Billing occurs monthly, there is no pro-rating
You will be responsible for the monthly premiums listed on the 
invoice. 
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Premium Payments while on any 
Unpaid Leave

If you do not pay the initial bill from Benefits Billing Services before 
the grace period indicated on the invoice, coverage will be cancelled 
back to the first day off on an Unpaid Leave. Or the first day of the 
month following non-payment.
If coverage is cancelled, you can be offered a “One-Time 
Reinstatement” of coverage.  You will be setup with coverage as if the 
cancellation never happened, and a new invoice will be mailed to your 
home address. You will also be responsible for any retro active 
premiums you may have missed.
Questions regarding options and coverage contact the Benefits 
Resource Line at 1-866-325-2345.
Any questions regarding the invoice, contact Benefits Billing Services 
at 1-877-588-0946.
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Unpaid Family Leave

You will be responsible for the normal bi-weekly premium for your 
dependents, and/or Part-Time premiums.  
If you do not pay the entire bill from Benefits Billing Services before 
the grace period indicated on the invoice, coverage will be cancelled 
back to the first day of their Unpaid Family Leave. 
Coverage will not be reinstated until the 1st of the month following 30 
days that you return from leave.
Questions regarding options and coverage contact the Benefits 
Resource Line at 1-866-325-2345.
Any questions regarding your invoice, contact Benefits Billing 
Services at 1-877-588-0946.
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Unpaid Family Leave
If You’re on Unpaid Family 
Leave…(coded FMLA)

The County Pays… You pay…

Health Coverage Its share of health premiums Your normal bi-weekly health 
premiums, if applicable.

County Dental
(Managers/Attorneys)

The full premium for you and any 
dependents

$0

Basic Life, Basic AD&D, 

Additional Life, Extra Additional 
Life, 

(Life and AD&D coverage’s will 
continue for a maximum of 3 
months)

$0 $0

You will be invoiced the full 
premium amount by Benefits 
Billing Services. Billing becomes 
effective the first of the following 
month following the start of your 
unpaid Family leave.

Dependent Life and Voluntary 
AD&D

(Life and AD&D will continue for a 
maximum of 3 months)

$0 You will be invoiced by Benefits 
Billing Services. Billing becomes 
effective the first of the following 
month following the start of your 
unpaid family leave.
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Unpaid Leave

Management, Attorneys and Craft & Plant:
Benefits Billing Services will bill an you monthly for Voluntary AD&D 
and Voluntary Life Insurances if the you choose to pay for them.

If you are still on leave at the end of that three months, coverage is 
cancelled and will be offered the ability to convert their Life Insurance 
by contacting Standard Insurance at 1-800-368-2859.

Conversion is not available for the AD&D benefit.
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Approved STD Leave
If You’re on an Approved STD 
Leave…

The County Pays… You pay…

Health Coverage Its share of health premiums Your normal bi-weekly health 
premiums, if applicable.

County Dental
(Managers/Attorneys)

The full premium for you and any 
dependents

$0

Basic Life, Basic AD&D
(to continue while on approved STD 
leave)

Additional Life, Extra Additional 
Life

$0

$0

$0

$0

Dependent Life and 

Voluntary AD&D

$0

$0

$0

Full premiums
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Paid Family Leave

There are requirements to qualify for a Family Leave of Absence. You 
will be referred to your HR representative for assistance.
You are still responsible for all normal biweekly premiums that occur 
each pay period.
Benefits are deducted via bi-weekly payroll deductions.
As a full-time County employee, there is a small cost associated to 
you to continue health coverage, 5%. 



Leave of Absence         

Paid Leave
If You’re on Paid leave… The County Pays… You pay…

Health Coverage Its share of health premiums Your normal bi-weekly health 
premiums, if applicable.

County Dental
(Managers/Attorneys)

The full premium for you and any 
dependents

$0

Basic Life & Basic AD&D The full premiums $0

Additional Life, Extra Additional 
Life, Dependent Life and 
Voluntary AD&D

$0 Full premiums
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Employee Married to Employee 
(EME) on Leave

Paid Leave:
Status as EME can be maintained during a paid leave.

Unpaid Leave:
EME status will be suspended
Contact the Benefits Resource Line at 1-866-325-2345, to discuss 
your options for premium payments while on leave.
The spouse may be required to make new enrollment elections in 
order to initiate dependent payroll deductions for the family 
coverage while on leave.
Complete new EME form upon return from leave.  Effective the 
first of the month following the receipt of the completed EME form 
by the Benefits Center.
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Return from Leave

HR must input the return to work effective date into the County payroll 
system in a timely manner.
Once entered, the return date will be sent to the County of Orange 
Benefits Center.
The Benefits Center then creates a return from leave letter with the 
benefit options based upon your return dates and status.
To re-establish EME, contact Benefits Center for instructions. 
Re-enrollment into cancelled benefits varies based on return date and 
status. For more information contact the Benefits Resource Line at 
1-866-325-2345.
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Things to Consider while on Leave

Adding Newborns while on leave, must be done within 30 days of the 
date of birth.
Waiting periods and PPO pre-existing conditions apply if there is a 
lapse in coverage while on leave.
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Additional Resources

County of Orange Benefits Center:
1-866-325-2345
www.benefitsweb.com/countyoforange/html
Standard Insurance Co:
1-800-368-2859
www.standard.com

http://www.standard.com/
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Additional Information Resources
Benefits Billing Services  

Invoice & billing questions
1-877-588-0946

www.ceridianbenefits.com
County of Orange Benefits Center  

Coverage options & costs
Web Site

www.benefitsweb.com/countyoforange.html
Resource Line
1-866-325-2345

http://www.ceridianbenefits.com/
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Leave of Absence Brochures

Posted on the Employee Benefits Web Site, you will find them 
in the  - “What’s New” section and under Health care, forms
You can also obtain from HR Manager
A great resource to provide to you information if you are 
planning a leave 
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Thank you for coming!
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